Went to my First Networking Event

On Tuesday April 24, 2012, I attended my first networking event held at the Business Lounge. It was a brainstorming session on youth and employment in Africa organized by The World Bank in collaboration with Africa Gathering. Videos of the event can be viewed at http://www.livestream.com/africagathering/

The sound on the videos isn’t so good because it was raining heavily.

I met Su Kahumbu who is the founder of Green Dreams Kenya Ltd, the creator of iCow and a Ted Fellow.

Su Kahumbu speaking at the brainstorming session

I also met Marieme Jamme, one of the founders of Africa Gathering. She was leading the brainstorming session.

Finally, I was priviledged to have a 15 minute mentoring session with Mj Petroni, the principal at Causeit, Inc. In 15 minutes, he gave me an idea on how I can run a small pilot without necessary spending bucket loads of money. By doing this, I would have something to show to donors and venture capitalists when asking for funding.

My next networking event will be the Third IAALD Africa Chapter Conference on e-agriculture.

In other news, I went and cut off my hair in attempt to free up more time for my project! Now I look like this.

Leave a Reply

